Legislator Profile

Former Florida Senator Dennis Jones (D) (R)
The information below was accurate during the legislator's active term.
Dennis Jones (D)
District Address:
8940 Seminole Boulevard
Seminole, FL   33772
Phone: (727) 549-6411

Capitol Address:
404 S. Monroe St.
408 Senate Office Bldg.
Tallahassee, FL   32399-1100
Phone: (850) 487-5065
political profile
  • Senate District:13
  • First Elected:2002
  • Terms Out:2012
  • Party:Republican
  • Delegations:Pinellas
  • District Information:view district 13 map
  • Legislative Service:Elected to the Senate in 2002, reelected subsequently
    Majority Leader, 2002-2004
    House of Representatives, 1978-2000
    Speaker Pro Tempore, 1998-2000
    Republican Caucus Chairman, 1990-1994
    House Republican Campaign Committee Chairman, 1985-1990
    Pinellas County Legislative Delegation Chair, 1984-1987
    Minority Floor Whip, 1984-1986
    House Republican Policy Committee
    House Republican Leadership Team
  • Born:April 5, 1941 in Erie, Pennsylvania
  • Moved to Florida:1950
  • Religious Affiliation:Methodist
  • Education:Lincoln Chiropractic College, D.C., 1963
    Attended St. Petersburg Junior College
  • Occupation:Vice President, Economic Development and Innovative Programs, St. Petersburg College
  • Spouse:Susan Davis, Ph.D. of Brandon
  • Children:Rod, D.C., Jill (deceased)
  • Grandchildren:Jacob, Jaxon, Jarod
  • Affiliations:St. Petersburg Republican Club, President, 1977-1978
    St. Petersburg Young Republican Club, President, 1974
    Florida Chiropractic Association President 1971-1972
    Pinellas County Chiropractic Society, President, 1965-1966
    Fellow of International Chiropractic Colleges
    Greater Seminole Area, Greater Largo Area, and Gulf Beaches Chambers of Commerce
    Pinellas County Republican Executive Committee
    Republican Club of Greater Largo
    Republican Club of Greater Seminole
    Central Pinellas Republican Club
    Ivory Club
    Suncoast Tiger Bay
    Breakfast Optimist Club of St. Petersburg
    Pinellas Marine Institute Board of Trustees
    Largo Medical Center Board of Trustees
    Northside Lodge #283 F&AM
    32 degree Mason-Tampa Consistory
    Royal Order of Jesters Court 89
  • Highlights:Theodore Roosevelt Society, Inc., Teddy Award, 2000
    Dennis L. Jones Beach Management Act, 2000
    Florida Shore and Beach Preservation Association, Beach Statesman Award, 1998
    Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, Legislator of the Year Award, 1998
    American Heart Association, Legislative Award, 1997
    Florida State Massage Therapy Association, Legislator of the Year Award, 1997
    Florida Optometric Association, Harry G. Landrum Legislator of the Year Award, 1997
    Florida Shore and Beach Preservation Association, Legislative Award for Outstanding Leadership, 1997
    South Beach I, II, III, Sand Key Club and Belleair Beach Gulfside Civic Association, Appreciation Award for Sand Key Phase IV Nourishment Project, 1996
    Barrier Islands Governmental Council Beach Renourishment Funds Award, 1996
    Florida Medical Association, Award of Appreciation for Service in Health Care, 1996
    Florida Pediatric Society and Florida Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics, Support of Children's Health and Safety Issues Award, 1996
    Florida Chiropractic Society, Legislator of the Year Award, 1996
    Florida Chiropractic Association, D. I. Rainey Legislative Award, 1996, 1988, 1984
    Coalition of Community Association Managers Organization, Legislator of the Year Award, 1996
    Pinellas County Police Benevolent Association, Legislator of the Year Award, 1995
    The Jeffery Tackett Foundation, Award of Honor, 1995
    The State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Council Award, 1994
    Florida Literary Coalition, Distinguished Service Award, 1993
    Florida Restaurant Association, Legislative Leadership Award, 1992
    South Pinellas Community Council, Appreciation for Service Award, 1992
    Florida Podiatric Medical Association, Legislator of the Year Award, 1991
    Florida Health Care Association, Legislator of the Year Award, 1991, 1984
    Pinellas County Council of Firefighters, First Annual Outstanding Legislator Award, 1990
    Pinellas Marine Institute Inc., Contribution to the Educational and Scientific Programs of PMI Award, 1989
    Seminole Evening Sertoma Club, Service to Mankind Award, 1989
    Boley Inc., Legislative Humanitarian Award, 1988
    National Federation of Independent Businesses, Guardian of Small Business Award, 1988
    Pinellas Emergency Mental Health Services PACE Award, 1988
    Marine Industries Association of Florida, Friend of Florida Boating Award, 1988
    Gulf Beaches Public Library, Appreciation Award, 1988
    FTP-NEA, Friend of Education Award, 1986
    St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce, Small Business Council, First Annual Champion of Small Business Award, 1984
    Florida Alcohol and Drug Abuse Association, Legislative Service Award, 1981
    Florida Association of Community Colleges, Legislative Service Award, 1981
  • Former Service:Joint Executive and Legislative Commission on Postsecondary Education, 1979
    Florida Chiropractic Advisory Council, 1977-1979
Features above are available to LobbyTools subscribers. Request a free demo or call (850) 915-0100 ext. 2 to learn more.