Legislator Profile

Former Florida Senator Alex Diaz de la Portilla (R)
The information below was accurate during the legislator's active term.
Alex Diaz de la Portilla
District Address:
1481 NW 22nd Street
Miami, FL   33142-7741
Phone: (305) 643-7200

Capitol Address:
404 S. Monroe St.
330 Senate Office Bldg.
Tallahassee, FL   32399-1100
Phone: (850) 487-5109
political profile
  • Senate District:36
  • First Elected:2000
  • Terms Out:2010
  • Party:Republican
  • Delegations:Miami-Dade
  • District Information:view district 36 map
  • Legislative Service:Elected to the Senate, January 25, 2000, reelected subsequently
    Majority (Republican) Leader, 2008-2010
    President Pro Tempore, 2002-2004
    House of Representatives, 1994-2000
  • Born:August 25, 1964 in Miami, Florida
  • Moved to Florida:
  • Religious Affiliation:Roman Catholic
  • Education:Attended University of Miami
  • Occupation:Political Consultant, Winning Strategies, Inc.
  • Spouse:
  • Highlights:Florida Economic Development Council, Senator of the Year Award, 2003
    International Union of Police Associations, Legislator of the Year Award, 2003
    House sponsor of the most comprehensive education reform legislation in Florida history, 1999
    Winner of the James Madison Hero of the Year Award for his successful fight to improve the Florida Education System, 1999
    Dade County Optometric Association, Legislator of the Year, 1998
    Led reform movements urging more inclusion in Republican Party of Dade County, 1988 and 1998
    Honored by President Reagan and U.S. Department of Education, Secretary Bell, as one of a group of Hispanic youth leaders at a White House reception, 1983, when he was only 19 years old
  • Former Service:Volunteer for Reagan-Bush Campaign, 1980
    Assistant to the State Director for the Reagan-Bush Youth Campaign, 1984
    Young Republican Leadership Conference, Washington, D.C., 1985, 1987 and 1989
    Delegate presidency I, II, III and IV of the Republican Party of Florida, 1987, 1991, 1995, 1999
    Young Republican National Convention, delegate, 1985, 1987, 1989
Features above are available to LobbyTools subscribers. Request a free demo or call (850) 915-0100 ext. 2 to learn more.